BMW South Africa Reviews

Show reviews that mention
car bmw service problem vehicle customer motor plan dealership repairs issue
Filter review
Most helpful review

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Faulty BMW sold by BMW Cedar Isle (Fourways) - M240i

I bought a 2017 BMW M240i from BMW Fourways in July 2020. The car was in a good condition and had low milage (30 000km). On 26 August 2020, I stopped at the shop to do some shopping. When I got back in the vehicle and started the engine - the main fuel line of the car exploded and petrol was leaking and spraying out everywhere. I contacted BMW assist and the vehicle was towed to BMW Midrand. The next morning BMW Midrand contacted me and said that they cannot repair the vehicle as the current fuel line is a non-BMW approved part. I am very disappointed and disgusted with the vehicle that I bought from BMW Fourways. The sales person at Fourways assured me that the vehicle was BMW approved and had never been in an accident. It all now sounds suspicious, because why would a car with 30 000 km had the fuel line replaced. And more alarming, why with a non-BMW approved part. When I phoned BMW SA, they could not trace on the system that the fuel line was ever replaced. This is shocking given the fact that one buys a BMW that is supposedly approved to live the values of the BMW company i.e. Only after they have undergone extensive visual and technical inspections by our specialists, do our pre-owned vehicles receive the mark of approval. In my case this was clearly lacking as I now sit with no car and I was not guaranteed 100% premium quality and uncompromising reliability when I chose a BMW. The windscreen on the car was also replaced by BMW Fourways with a non-BMW approved windscreen. How could this have gone undetected by the so-called specialists that inspect a BMW to award the approved mark. BMW Fourways is reimbursing me the full cost price, however to this day can not provide me with a plausible reason as to why the car must be replaced. This raises suspicion that the car sold to me was in fact not BMW approved as promised and could have been in an accident. It is very alarming that my life was put in significant and serious danger as the car could have exploded with petrol spraying out everywhere. I am very disappointed in the service obtained from BMW Fourways in this regard and will never purchase a vehicle from them again and will strongly discourage and advocate anyone to do so in the future. When I expressed my concerns to the sales person that my life was placed in serious danger he said oh me too - I had a mini stroke a few weeks ago. This is absolute nonsense and very unprofessional. The least that BMW can do is to compensate me for the terrible discomfort caused by selling me a car that in-fact did not undergo the necessary checks to be regarded as BMW approved and consequently could have killed me. It is really shocking.

User's recommendation: Don’t buy a BMW from BMW Cedar Isle and be very hesitant when told it is BMW approved.

View full review
ID
#2158626 Review #2158626 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Midrand, Gauteng
Preferred solution
Price reduction

The problem now they saying it is a battery

CryCryCryI have managed to pay for the damaged which is R 5700 now I have been told the can needs a new battery and it is costing R7000 as per service manager and the car is lying at the dealership but the car still on the motor plan simple because I don't have Soo much of money.

User's recommendation: Unfortunately I will not recommend any of my friend to buy BMW.

View full review
ID
#2870364 Review #2870364 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Durban, Kwazulu-Natal
New Reviewer

I want to lodge complaint regarding bmw repair

I send my car for Coolant dignose,The dignose did not read any faults to my surprise I told the dealer that I did refill water in my engine due to water leakage The dealer replaced new coolant bottle saying the bottle was leaking.After 2 days Ive notice the same problem water/anti freezer leakage. The dealer called me saying that the pipe was the one leaking the problem is sorted, The problem started again Can you please assist me Can you please try to
View full review
ID
#2804717 Review #2804717 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Johannesburg, Gauteng
Good evening sir/madam It is regretably to write this email During 2021 May 30th my bmw 520d G30 was booked in for repairs at bmw montana Arc for repairing front left magrim ,left front conrner lower bumper, left front suspension .on 25 june i received my vehicle with...
View full review
View full review
ID
#2661175 Review #2661175 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Pretoria, Gauteng

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer
Hoping You can help with this dilemma, as I am sure BMW always maintain there reputation. My Daughter --- Melissa Davies drives a BMW X5 (4.8) She just recently had an oil leak, and took the vehicle to BMW Isando, who had the vehicle for about three days. After 3 days...
View full review
View full review
ID
#2172441 Review #2172441 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Preferred solution
fix it

Unfair treatment from BMW dealership in santon auto

BMW South Africa - Unfair treatment from BMW dealership in santon auto
I went To dealership to go arrange for my balloon payment as my last installment is supposed to be due in July,I’ve given all my documents to LJ labeschagne who is the manager there to this date I haven’t got response I left several messages to him but he doesn’t come back to me.im frustrated as I don’t know what’s happening and after so many calls to the dealer to my surprised I was finally told that no one wants to help me there and I was never provided with the answers. I’m frustrated out of my head please intervene and way forward

User's recommendation: No recommendations to that dealership at all.

View full review
ID
#2023274 Review #2023274 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Johannesburg, Gauteng

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Dissatisfied customer regarding problems that have been refused to be fixed

A couple of weeks ago I bought a bmw x1 2016 mod at auric auto bmw and everything was done quickly and effortlessly I then said to the sales person or asked if what is the condition of the car (numerous times) and I was assured that the car is in perfect condition (quoted) auric auto then delivered the car to speedy car sales in klerksdorp cause they said bmw rustenburg doesn't except deliveries yet (lockdown later stage, may) so I fetched the car on a Saturday and when I stopped at home(rustenburg) I saw some problems on the car and took pictures and sent it to the sales agent (ELECT Park brake button cracked, badge on driverside door not on the car it was found in cubby hole with no sticky tape on it, plastic cover between front and rear door loose, on inside of fenders left and right side screws missing and it also holds spoiler in place, sun visor bracket is pulling out when opening, trunk floor cover pins not even on the cover when opened its completely loose, saw 2 dents on the car, and the rear door locking pin doesn't come out the door when opening car with remote) i was told to take car to rustenburg bmw and did so and made appointment for car to go in the Thursday morning(11 June 2020)so my wife was on her way to take the car to bmw and suddenly no clutch and bmw rustenburg loaded the car and took it to workshop and was checked and said the slave cylinder was not working and that they would have to order the part from Germany and previously before the appointment I showed the car to rustenburg workshop mngr and he told auric auto of all the problems on the car and sent them a quote and he also said that he found that the rear taillight was also not to std and that the taillight has water in and that they must also replace the taillight and I must say that bmw rustenburg was more than willing to assist me but the cost of repairs must be sent to auric auto and auric auto refuses to change the cracked electr park brake button and replacing the taillight and was also said that the breakdown of the slave cylinder Wil be fixed by the motor plan but the rest must be fixed by the dealer (auric auto) and the part (slave cylinder) arrived the 25 th of June and car will probably be ready by next week but I'm really dissatisfied by the after sales service by auric auto bmw and this is my 2nd bmw and really didn't expect this bad service from a bmw dealer (auric auto) can you please contact me or respond to this email, I have sent this email to you earlier today with pics of all problems (M Briel 791213****087) (083****135) & also no courtesy car available drove the car 2 weeks and broke down with clutch (slave cylinder) and the workshop mngr also contacted auric auto dissatisfied by sending a car to Client in this condition and refusing some repairs like the taillight and electr park brake button(hole unit must be replaced on this model) please respond to this complaint urgently need to know what's to be done cause I'm really disappointed (sales agents name is Abitsaam its a lady)

User's recommendation: If not sorted out I would not recommend auric auto to anyone.

View full review
ID
#2018960 Review #2018960 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Pros
  • Excellent vehicle
  • Lovely car
Cons
  • Pathetic service
Preferred solution
Resolve problems swiftly or forward to ombudsman and let them decide the way forward
New Reviewer
My 530d went in to Sandton Branch - Dsisy road Branch , for a service ,as well as repairs to the Boot - the shocks that control the Boot are broken thus causing the Boot to open up at a high speed . Workshop apparently fitted SPRINGS with out adjusting the springs ....
View full review
View full review
ID
#1815409 Review #1815409 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Preferred solution
Full refund
New Reviewer

Never Buy BMW/MINI

Been taking my car in a clearwater BMW for a drivetrain error, and oil residue in the water coolant since November 2019. Been returning it after being told to collect it was fixed, but still same problem persists. End of January 2020 my motorplan expired, has to return the car again for the 3rd time as problem persisted. I'm told they need to replace the hydraulic unit inside the gearbox and I'll have to pay R39k as my car is now out of motorplan. They could not fix the car properly the first time, and the job they did also had 2 year warranty but they adamant that this is a different issue. These people will rip you off and hold you ransom.
View full review
ID
#1791315 Review #1791315 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Johannesburg, Gauteng
Loss
$39000
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Never purchase a BMW

My car got out of Motorola in August 2019. Ever since that time, I have been taking it to the deals let every month and sometimes twice a month, with the highest cost being 13k in October. Just on the 1st of January I took it for drive train error. I was not given an update on what's happening till I called them on Monday the 6th then they apparently fixed it the following day. I collected the car on the 8th, the following flat on Friday I tried to start it gave me another problem, the steering wheel becomes so hard you could hear the friction between the parts in the car. So far I have spent almost 30k from September 2019 to January 2020!! BMW used to be a good brand but now I can't recommend it at all. Im taking it back on Wednesday and I'm definitely selling it, and would never allow BMW to rip me off just like this. Either they don't have competent staff or they intentionally make the car to break often just to make money.
View full review
ID
#1759628 Review #1759628 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Bmw South Africa Car Repair
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Loss
$1535
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Not recomment anyone

Im really upset because yesterday I took my car to BMW JOBURG CITY for service,they did not update or call me concerning the car. They are still having my car with me.
View full review
ID
#1737721 Review #1737721 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Johannesburg, Gauteng

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

I cannot recommend anyone

Update by user Dec 20, 2019

Not resolved

Original review posted by user Dec 20, 2019
Yesterday 12/12/19 I took my car for holiday service at BMW. I did not get any update from them,right now 20/12/19am sitting in my house no update nothing,I tried to call the service manager several times he is not responding to my calls. I am going to expose this issue to SABC 2 SPEAK-OUT. I am realy tired.last time I took my car to BMW SANDTON AUTO REPAIR CENTRE, instead of panelbeating my car they put polifilla or cement on the damages.Really? Please respond as soon as possible. Kind regards Lillian Masilo
View full review
ID
#1737718 Review #1737718 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Bmw South Africa Customer Care
Reason of review
Work Experience or Job Application
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution
New Reviewer
I took my car to Northcliff Auto In Cresta Saturday morning to get my key cancelled and recoded after an attempted hijacking incident on my Mini. Whilst they were doing the cancellation of the key their system bombed out another system on my car making the car...
View full review
View full review
ID
#1679014 Review #1679014 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Johannesburg, Gauteng
Service
Bmw South Africa Customer Care
Pros
  • Offered to wash car
Cons
  • Pathetic service
  • Shocking
Reason of review
Damaged or defective
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution

Quality of product and service

i bought the vehicle in January 2019 brand new i was the first driver on the vehicle and now its traveled 19 000 kilometers but the doors rubbers are getting worn out and the stitch on the seats are untied, you can see clearly see that the quality of the interior is cheap and not of quality but yet we pay exorbitant price for the car, it clear the car is not built carry me and family for long and another problem is the sunroof at from time to time it jams and cant to close, these problems are coming from X3 2019 model 320 D Manufactured in 2018 October and registration date 2019 January purchased in zambesi bmw. Ive the raised query telephonic ally i was told to bring it back no taking into consideration its a vehicle i use daily and how i move aground this lets me further know how important we customers to bmw zambesi bmw this was to further reiterate my current frustrations with BMW SA. perhaps it is time to move on to other brand Reg HV 14 FL GP
View full review
ID
#1671099 Review #1671099 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Johannesburg, Gauteng
Service
Bmw South Africa Customer Care
New Reviewer

Below standard expectation.

1. My x4 (Nhlavu GP) has over 1200 on the clock. 2. On 26 August 2019 I took it to BMW Clearwater for brake service and coolant diagnosis and attention. 3.On 28 I was told the vehicle has been serviced and was ready for collection. Upon starting the vehicle I noticed that the sound of the vehicle is raised as if there is a problem with the air con of the vehicle. I immediately informed the consultant who then went to inform the technician who attended the vehicle to come and check it. The consultant came back to inform me that the technician was busy with a big engine and that he could not come check the vehicle. She informed me that the vehicle had been stationery for a while, so it was to be expected for the sound to have raised. She informed me that the technician expected the sound to normalize as I drove it. The sound did not 't normalize. I aggrieved that I was told there was a better job than my vehicle. My vehicle is out of motor plan and almost paid up. BMW has appezled to me to trade it in which I refused. It appears I am being punished for the refusal. The question that arises to us whether BMW with service such as this is the right brand for me or referrals. Please let me know if there is any help for me.
View full review
ID
#1638940 Review #1638940 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Bmw South Africa Customer Care
Cons
  • Dont care attitute
  • Lack of ability to repair their cars
Reason of review
Bad quality
Loss
$28000
Preferred solution
Normalize the sound of the vehicle. Technicians to stay committed even after motor plan duration.
New Reviewer
I have been a customer of BMW for more than 30 years,and was recently involved in a car accident. I sustained injuries to my sternum and was taken to hospital as I could not breath. My airbags did not deploy and my seatbelt did not lock and I was flung into the...
View full review
View full review
ID
#1628115 Review #1628115 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Bmw South Africa Customer Care
Reason of review
Damaged or defective
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution

Why Trust Reviews on PissedConsumer?

  • Professional auto and live moderation
  • 100% user-generated content
  • Equal opportunity and protection
  • Zero tolerance for fake reviews
  • Verified content

For more information read Blog article